How to forget a Wi-Fi network on iPhone, iPad and Mac

How to forget a WiFi Network

How to forget a WiFi Network

Your Apple devices have a very cool feature where they remember the Wi-Fi networks you join and automatically connect you to them when you’re in range. But you may want your device to forget a network. For instance, you probably don’t want to keep the hotel Wi-Fi you used on vacation in your list. Or maybe you need to rejoin a network with a different password.

You can force your device to remove these types of networks from your list. Here’s how to forget a Wi-Fi network on iPhone, iPad, and Mac.

Forget a Wi-Fi network on iPhone and iPad

Open the Settings on your iPhone or iPad and then follow these simple steps to forget a Wi-Fi network.

1) Select Wi-Fi.

2) Tap the Info icon next to the network.

3) Tap Forget This Network.

Forget WiFi Network iPhone

Forget WiFi Network iPhone

Note: If you have a supervised device, issued by a school or employer, you may not be able to forget a Wi-Fi network.

Forget a Wi-Fi network on Mac

To forget a Wi-Fi network on Mac, start by clicking the Apple icon > System Preferences from the menu bar. Then, do the following.

1) Click Network.

2) Select the Wi-Fi network on the left and click the Advanced button.

System Preferences Network Advanced Mac

System Preferences Network Advanced Mac

3) Make sure Wi-Fi is selected at the top. Choose the network and then click the minus sign.

4) Confirm you want to remove the network by clicking Remove.

Forget WiFi Network Mac

Forget WiFi Network Mac

More help with your Wi-Fi

For additional tutorials and tips, take a look at these related Wi-Fi articles.

Wrapping it up

Your Apple devices remembering the networks that you join is convenient. And removing those you’ll never connect to again is simple. Do you have networks in your list that you plan to forget?

This article was originally posted here